3 weeks 3 minority solons join House majority bloc MB
The minority bloc in the House of Representatives lost three of its key members who now become majority bloc members for supporting the candidacy of Speaker Lord Allan Velasco as house leader. Reps. Lito Atienza (Buhay party-list); Jose “Bonito” Singson Jr. (Ako Probinsyano) and Bayani Fernando (PDP-Laban, Marikina City) voted for Velasco to take over the post left vacant by the ouster of Taguig-Pateros Rep. Alan Peter Cayetano.   Thus, under the rules they automatically become members of the majority bloc. Albay Rep. Edcel Lagman, who considers himself an independent minority, also backed Velasco’s bid to unseat Cayetano but will maintain his ... more